Regeneration of the Côte d’Azur Observatory’s batteries

Batteries regenerator R & D
BE ENERGY invested in new R&D programs on battery regeneration
22 September 2020

Regeneration of the Côte d’Azur Observatory’s batteries

Regeneration Batteries Observatoire Cote d'Azur

Created in 1881 by Raphaël Bischoffsheim, the Côte d'Azur observatory carries out scientific activities in the fields of planetology, astronomy and cosmology. Located in Nice, on Mont Gros, this observatory has participated in the development of several astronomical instruments such as the Atronomical Multi Beam Combiner (AMBER). Although it is better known as a tourist site today, the observatory is still in operation.

Investing in battery regeneration: a strategic choice for the OCA

Since its installation in Nice, the OCA has improved the results of several astrological projects. However, the observatory's work has for several years been concentrated on measuring and calculating the trajectories of space probes and planets (the moon in particular). OCA astronauts therefore use various pieces of equipment, including an atomic clock and a telescope.

Since the observatory has recently specialised in calculations, it must remain in an environment without any disturbance to the performance of the atomic clock. Thus, failing to use the ENEDIS electricity network, which tends to alter the results of calculations because of the noise it emits, the OCA preferred to install 104 stationary batteries to supply the site with electricity..

Having been in operation for several years, these batteries are becoming less and less efficient and needed to be changed. However, a project to replace them with new batteries would have cost the observatory an enormous amount of money. The management therefore opted for the most practical solution: reconditioning..

Thus, the OCA called on our structure for a diagnosis. The results were encouraging since all the batteries could be regenerated. Thanks to BeEnergy's regeneration technology, the equipment at the Côte d'Azur Observatory has resumed functioning perfectly.

An advantageous solution from an ecological and financial point of view

The benefits of repackaging for the institution are considerable. The first is of course financial. Indeed, battery regeneration costs 70 times less than the purchase of new equipment. However, reconstituted batteries offer the same performance as newly purchased equipment. The BRT Maxi Gold Regenerator that we use has the advantage of being much more efficient than the conventional regenerators available on the market. It allows to improve the battery recharging time. This has made the teams at the Nice site more productive.

Thus, in addition to making significant savings, the OCA now has a high-performance and durable electrical installation. The stress of repeated power outages is now a distant memory.

The other major advantage of the reconditioning is the preservation of the ecology. Instead of investing in the purchase of new equipment, the Côte d'Azur Observatory has chosen reconditioning in order to participate in the reduction of harmful waste emitted into the environment. This decision is not insignificant since, outside of their work, astronauts are among those who know best the changes that pollution causes on our planet.

Note that it is the duty of all citizens to adopt an eco-responsible attitude and to choose solutions such as reconditioning batteries to protect the environment.

Régénération des batteries de l’Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur

Batteries regenerator R & D
BE ENERGY investi dans de nouveaux programmes de R&D sur la régénération des batteries
22 septembre 2020

Régénération des batteries de l’Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur

Regeneration Batteries Observatoire Cote d'Azur

Créé en 1881 par Raphaël Bischoffsheim, l'observatoire de la Côte d'Azur réalise des activités scientifiques dans le domaine de la planétologie, de l'astronomie ou de la cosmologie. Installé à Nice, sur le mont Gros, cet observatoire a participé au développement de plusieurs instruments astronomiques comme l'Atronomical Multi Beam Combiner (AMBER). Bien qu'il soit plus connu comme un site touristique aujourd'hui, l'observatoire est encore en activité.

Investir dans la régénération des batteries : un choix stratégique pour l'OCA

Depuis son installation à Nice, l'OCA a permis d'améliorer les résultats de plusieurs projets astrologiques. Cependant, les travaux de l'observatoire sont depuis plusieurs années concentrés sur la mesure et le calcul de la trajectoire des sondes spatiales ainsi que des planètes (la lune notamment). Ainsi, les astronautes de l'OCA utilisent différents équipements, dont une horloge atomique et un télescope.

Puisque l'observatoire est depuis peu spécialisé dans les calculs, il se doit de rester dans un environnement sans aucune perturbation sur les performances de l'horloge atomique. Ainsi, à défaut d'utiliser le réseau électrique de l'ENEDIS qui a tendance à altérer le résultat des calculs en raison des bruits qu'il émet, l'OCA a préféré installer 104 batteries stationnaires pour alimenter le site en électricité.

Mises en activité depuis plusieurs années, ces batteries deviennent de moins en moins performantes et nécessitaient un changement. Cependant, un projet de renouvellement par des batteries neuves aurait énormément coûté à l'observatoire. La direction a donc opté pour la solution la plus pratique : le reconditionnement.

Ainsi, l'OCA a fait appel à notre structure pour un diagnostic. Les résultats se sont avérés encourageants puisque toutes les batteries pouvaient être régénérées. Grâce à la technologie de régénération de BeEnergy, les équipements de l'Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur ont repris parfaitement leur fonctionnement.

Une solution avantageuse sur le plan écologique et financier

Les avantages du reconditionnement pour l'établissement sont considérables. Le premier est bien sûr financier. En effet, la régénération de batteries coûte 70 fois moins cher que l'achat d'équipements neufs. Pourtant, les batteries reconstituées offrent les mêmes performances que des appareils achetés nouvellement. Le Régénérateur BRT 20-3 que nous utilisons à l'avantage d'être beaucoup plus efficace que les régénérateurs classiques qui sont disponibles sur le marché. Il permet d'améliorer la durée de recharge des batteries. Cela a permis de rendre les équipes du site de Nice plus productives.

Ainsi, en plus d'avoir réalisé d'importantes économies, l'OCA possède maintenant une installation électrique performante et durable. Le stress lié aux pannes électriques répétitives n'est désormais qu'un lointain souvenir.

L'autre avantage important du reconditionnement réside dans la préservation de l'écologie. Au lieu d'investir dans l'achat de nouveaux appareils, l'Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur a choisi le reconditionnement afin de participer à la réduction des déchets nocifs émis dans l'environnement. Cette décision n'est d'ailleurs pas anodine puisqu'en dehors de leur travail, les astronautes font partie de ceux qui connaissent le mieux les changements que la pollution occasionne sur notre planète.

Notez qu'il est du devoir de tous les citoyens d'adopter une attitude écoresponsable et de choisir des solutions comme le reconditionnement des batteries pour protéger l'environnement.